Toggle menu

From the King's Coronation to Armed Forces Day - all the special events marked in 2023 with Borough's memorial lighting

19 January 2023
Newport Bridge lit up as part of Memorial Lighting scheme

Newport Bridge lit up as part of Memorial Lighting scheme

The Coronation of His Majesty King Charles III will join other important events and anniversaries being marked by Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council's memorial lighting scheme this year.

The popular scheme sees structures like the Newport Bridge and Stockton Town Centre and the Riverside bathed in colourful lights to show the Borough's support for a range of nationally recognised special occasions and good causes.

The LED lighting has previously been used to mark everything from Holocaust Memorial Day and World Cancer Day to Stoptober and Show Racism the Red Card.  And now the Council's Cabinet has agreed an updated annual programme for 2023. 

Councillor Steve Nelson, the Council's Cabinet Member for Health, Leisure and Culture, said: "Our memorial lighting programme continues to be very popular, and is shared far and wide on social media, raising awareness of important issues and marking national campaigns.

"We look forward to lighting up the Borough once again on special days throughout 2023.  And of course, if anyone wishes to submit a request for next year's memorial lighting programme they can do so via our website."

Newport Bridge, Stockton Town Centre and the Riverside lights were also turned orange on Monday (16 January) in support of local mental health charity, the Russ Devereux Headlight Project. The aim of their campaign is to raise awareness of and reduce the number of deaths by suicide in the Tees Valley.

Memorial lighting dates for 2023

Date

Event

Colour(s)

Friday 27 January

Holocaust Memorial Day

Purple

Wednesday 1 February

LGBT+ History Month

Multi

Saturday 4 February

World Cancer Day

Orange

Monday 27 February

Fairtrade Fortnight

Blue-Green

Wednesday 8 March

International Women's Day

White/Purple/Green

Thursday 23 March

National Day of Reflection

Yellow

Saturday 25 March

Earth Hour (8.30pm-9.30pm)

Switched off

Sunday 2 April

Autism Acceptance Day

Gold

Sunday 23 April

St George's Day

Red/White

Saturday 6 May

The King's Coronation

Red/White/Blue

Monday 15 May

National Dementia Action Week

Purple

Thursday 1 June

National Volunteering Week

Red/Purple

Monday 5 June

National Carers Week

Blue

Saturday 24 June

Armed Forces Day

Red/White/Blue

Monday 4 September

World Sexual Health Awareness Day

Orange/Blue

Sunday 1 October

Stoptober (Stop Smoking Campaign)

Red

Monday 9 October

Baby Loss Awareness Week

Pink/Blue

Tuesday 10 October

World Mental Health Day

Purple

Friday 20 October

Show Racism the Red Card

Red

Saturday 11 November

Remembrance Day

Red

Tuesday 14 November

World Diabetes Day

Blue

Saturday 25 November

International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women

Orange

 

To find out more or submit a request for next year's annual memorial lighting programme visit Request memorial lighting

For Council news direct to your inbox sign up to our My Council Newsletter.